3 planter boxes on a wall shelf

Wall shelf

3 planter boxes on a wall shelf
L shaped with a digonal across shelf bracket

The L shape was constructed using dovetail joint. The diagonal piece was attached with dowel joint.

This was another project I did early in my woodworking hobby. I needed a shelf in my belcony to house my plants. My belcony was also my wood workshop so I cannot afford a large space for my garden. As I live in an appartment, my belcony measures a mere 14 feet by 5 feet. Small for a workshop by any standard. And I have to share it with my plants!

The top was a slap of Kapur wood. It is used to make doors and window stills so I guess they would hold up and age well.

The shelf brackets are very strong. The L shape is done with dovetail joint construction. Normally, there is no need for such a strong joint in a simple shelf (butt joint will do) but I was practicing my dovetailing technique. The dignoal is held to the L by dowel joints. Do note how the grain of the diagonal runs. It should run along the length of the diagonal.

The shelf is finished with 5 coats of polyurethene varnish on each side.

The whole thing is mounted on the wall using plastic wall plugs and screws.

Leave a Reply

