End Grain Pop Cake Holder by a Woodworker in Singapore

A friend of mine wanted to make pop cakes for her department year end party. She thus needed a pop cake stand. She searched the web and found a simple stand costing $50. It was a simple block of wood with holes and then spray painted white. She sent me a link and asked if I could replicate it.

“Of course I can, but why would I?” was my instant reply. So I designed a one that I could call my own design, taking inspiration from the end grain cutting board.

The main board was made from the end grains of pine wood. This is frame with a teak border. Lengthwise, the teak border sits in a dovetail groove. This gives it space to expand and contract as wood naturally does. The ends tongue and grooved and held together with spots of glue and panel pins which hold them in place but still give them sufficient space to expand and contract.

So there it is. An end grain pop cake holder. I hope she likes it.
DSC_1111

Leave a Reply

